XV535 Starting Issues

'To the point' advice on what fits what, parts interchangeability and simple solutions to common problems...
This forum applies to XS 650 Yamahas.
Keep your post brief. You may include 2-3 clear cropped photos (max 600 pixels wide)...
Sumo

XV535 Starting Issues

Post by Sumo » Fri May 01, 2009 6:51 am

I have a customer with a XV 535 that he dropped into work for me to have a look at the starter. Well I pulled out the starter and rebuilt it, and it sounds fine in the test bench when I put it back in it wont turn the motor over, so I used a set of jumper lead directly to the starter and still no go, so now im thinking the assembly that the starter pushes into may be at fault.

My questions are,
Does the starter push into some form of clutch assembly (as the starter doesnt have a clutch on the front of it)?

Im not a bike mechanic, im a auto elec, so if its a fairly big task im going to have to pass it onto a bike mech. (Bloke told me "he doesnt want to spend too much money on the old girl")

midnight7503

Post by midnight7503 » Fri May 01, 2009 8:41 am

Yes all Yamaha V motors have starting problems of 1 form or another, it isn't an electrical problem, but a mechanical 1, people have come up with a few good fixes for them over the years, and each model has a different problem, but all normally surrounding the starter clutch, either pass the job onto a mechanic, or do some research online looking for starter fixes for the XV's
Someone in a group like this
http://de.groups.yahoo.com/group/yamaha-xv/
should be able to help with some answers
“There is no heaven, there is no hell, except here on Earth.”

Thespis

Post by Thespis » Fri May 01, 2009 9:02 am