Hello From Sydney

Introduce yourself... area where you live, your bike or bike plans, kind of riding you like to do, a bit of your biking of history, interests, family etc
andrewb

Hello From Sydney

Post by andrewb » Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:43 pm

New bloke here,
Im new to road bikes and such, looking at getting my license shortly, been riding offroad bikes since i was a lil bloke though, owned a fair amount over the years.

I Have been thinking about building a bobber for a few years now,
Im building a street/drag car at the moment, 1958 vw beetle, cut it up pretty good, 3inch transmission raise, 4inch narrowed and adjustable front end, drop spindles, wide rims in the rear with 205's, skinny tyres up front (145's they arent on it yet), etc etc etc the list is long, good fun, keeps me busy, keeps the wallet empty.
but its at the point where i need another project to step away from that car for a little bit before i burn it to the ground :lol:

I bought an xv250 a month or so ago, for what i paid i couldnt say no,
but on closer inspection, i dont think it would be a good candidate to chop up and build the type of bobber i would like.
It has a horrid backbone (intake goes through it), so i would have to cut that out, weld in a new back bone and then do the hardtail. I think thats too much to slip through rego unnoticed haha.
So i will probably clean it up give it some fresh paint and a couple of mods to clean it up, get my L's on it and then i will sell it to fund another bike that i can hardtail a little easier, while being learner legal assuming learners can ride modified bikes?

I do alot of work on bikes and cars (and other stuff) for mates and mates of mates so the garage and driveway is always full, always good fun at my place!! :twisted:

So i have come to this forum to gather some knowledge on what i can and cannot get away with in regards to chopping up a bike and getting it in the road in nsw.