Help Me please (Import Issues)

I have asked Choppaweeza provide advice based on his business experience in this forum. There are a variety of ways of avoiding Australian regulations... please don't expect him to give advice in those areas.
The.Goat.In.Boots

Help Me please (Import Issues)

Post by The.Goat.In.Boots » Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:06 am

Hey Guy's,

So Im building my first chopper/bobber, a 650 Triumph, and I need some help. I have decided to go for a kit import from the USA. I know what your thinking, but seeing as it's my first build I thought I would take an easier option. Thing is, I have no idea about how to go about organising an import. The .gov website is so complicated about importing a custom kit. I have contacted an import broker (All American Imports) but I'm starting to think that maybe having the guy send a few separate boxes as "parts". Does anyone have info on this such as legal ramifications. Also, if I get a custom frame from the USA with a MSO (Manufactures statement of origin) does that count as an engineers cert? I have so many questions about the import laws and how far they extend as far as parts or "whole bike" goes. I have some great ideas for this bike and I'm super stolked on it.

All help is greatly appreciated!

Cheers

The Mountain Goat!

Bearcx

Post by Bearcx » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:50 am

Hi Mate, I'm no expert, but I believe its easier to import cars or bikes in pieces, then re-assemble them here. You just need someone reliable over there, to dis assemble and box all the bits for you.

Any ideas anyone??
The brave may not live long, but, the cautious do not live at all.

chopaweeza

Post by chopaweeza » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:58 am

It's a complex question with complex answers . I'll attempt to answer the gentlemans questions off forum .
Chopaweeza Enterprises
www.chopaweeza.com

Brassy

Post by Brassy » Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:01 am

O.K an M.S.O is not an engineers cert problem 1, engineering aint cheap problem 2.